Thank You Notes…

wfmwheaderbackwards.jpgI’ve discovered the best thing… Works-For-Me-Wednesdays… a blog all about what works for, well, anyone who wants to give their 2 cents. So here’s something I’ve always needed help with. Thank you cards. I am HORRIBLE at them… I can hardly remember to do them. I need something to remind me and a way to keep up with giving thanks for the great things people do for me. Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated!

For answers to many of life’s random questions visit Rocks in My Dryer. Enjoy!

9 Responses to “Thank You Notes…”

  1. Debs Says:

    What a lovely thing to want to remember! Maybe you could start a collection of nice cards, either shopbought or handmade that are especially for this purpose. If I have a card ready I find I’m more likely to send it!

    Maybe you could set aside a ten minute slot each week to just think over the lasty week and if there was anyone you particularly wanted to thank. that way it’s not too long after the event so you don’t feel embarassed for leaving it too long (I’ve done that before and ended up not sending the sard because I felt it was way too late, but then I felt guilty for not sending the card…)

    Actually I think I’m going to try these ides myself. After all I know i love getting mail, so I’m sure my friends do too!

  2. Happy Geek Says:

    I do two things to remember these,
    A) I keep blank thank-you notes in a really handy spot in my kitchen and generally try to write (and mail them) the same day so I don’t forget
    B) If I am super busy, I put it on my calender for a day in the near future that doesn’t look quite as nuts.

    I also keep them short and sweet so they don’t seem as overwhelming a task and thus making them less likely to be put off.

  3. blessyourheartmom Says:

    I was just thinking the same thing as what was previously mentioned. Get a stack of thank you cards and envelopes and store them in a small basket or box that is in a easy to see place (perhaps near the kitchen table or office desk. Go ahead and put a stamp on the envelope and write your return address or place your address label on the envelope so it is ready to go.

    Then when you sit down to write out the card, half the job is already done!

  4. coachmarcia Says:

    Oooh, this is one of my passions! I love sending thank you notes.

    I always have some available and when we were in Malaysia, I saw a cute thank-you pad (looked like a post-it pad size but not sticky, with Thank You on the top).

    I use the little pad for small things on colleagues’ desks like “thanks again for helping me with that Excel spreadsheet” etc etc.

    You should do them immediately otherwise you forget. BUT that’s no excuse – write it down immediately and you can always send the card later.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    I love stationary!! So it is easy for me to send thank you notes. My mom instilled in me at an early age that you ALWAYS send a TY note. A couple of days after Christmas I have my children sit down and do all of their TY notes for all of their CHristmas gifts. THey are not always fond of this but I am trying to teach them good writing habits etc.

    I have a big pretty box with all my notecards and stamps and address labels. I make my own too! ( you can see them on my J Design blog) So I look forward to sending mail out.

    I am also a Good Mail Girl. You can read about it on my blog. It is so much fun to send out Good Mail! Maybe you would like to join and get some practice sending and receivng Good Mail. It can be addictive!

    I guess I am saying…just have fun with it!

  6. The Wooden Porch Says:

    I keep blank thank you notes, stamps, return envelopes and my address book all together so I can just sit down with it and not look around the house for everything. I also make a list of people who need to be thanked and stick it on my fridge. When everyone is crossed off, I toss the sheet. Thank you notes are very important to me. My mom used to never let me play with a toy until my note was sent out to the person.

  7. Teresa Says:

    I just had my first baby, so we have been writing a lot of thank you notes! One thing that helps me is making a document. I use excel (or you can use Google docs) and make a list of the giver, what they gave, their address, (if you don’t have it and need to write it down so you can throw away the box or envelope with the return address) and a box to check off if I’ve sent the thank-you note. Then, if you set aside some time each week to do thank-you notes, you can check your list to see who you still need to thank. It helps me to stay organized!

  8. Goslyn Says:

    A good trick that I use with kids – and make myself do – is not to use the item until you write the note. For instance, if you receive a nice pair of earrings for a birthday gift – make yourself write the note AND mail it (my shortfall) before you wear them.

    Good luck!

  9. Martie Says:

    I don’t know if anyone else has suggested this, but you could keep a folder in your car with cards, envelopes, addresses and stamps, and then when you are alone at an appointment or something, you could use those few free moments to catch up. That’s what I did with my baby’s birth announcements. I put them together in the waiting room at my OB appointments!

    Hope that helps!

    Martie

Leave a Reply

